I need an aide!

Four weeks of kindergarten under our belt! Lots of great wows and some not so great ones.  They say life is filled with regrets and at the moment my biggest to date is not insisting that J be assigned a full time aide when we had his IEP back in June.  Apparently it is easier to take services away than it is to add them – please take heed of this if any of you ever have a child in the special education system.  So now that I learned that lesson and feel ridiculous and more than a little naive my poor little dude has had to struggle through a full month of having his world be much to big for him to handle.  Consequently he has been running away at school, exhibiting some “behaviors” and tonight started telling us that his new school is scary and asking to go back to his preschool.  Heartbreak wow.  

My last two weeks have been consumed by phone calls, meetings, emails and progress reports with our “team” – private therapists and now the entire school special ed and gen ed staff.  Keep in mind that this is a group consisting of over 25 individuals with conflicting personalities and opinions so most of the time I have had the sensation one would get when running down the up escalator.  Try it sometime, it’s frustrating but exhilirating.  

At any rate – I think we have made good progress – I know what we need…I think…..and I know how to ask for it….I think…….. Wish me luckImage 

Leave a comment